Cristiano Ronaldo had perhaps the most eventful cameo ever seen during the Spanish Super Cup meeting between Real Madrid and Barcelona on Sunday night.
He scored a goal, was sent off and then pushed the referee – an action that could lead to a serious punishment.
CR7 only returned to training a few days ago and as a result was named on the bench for the first-leg meeting at the Nou Camp.
Ronaldo was introduced in the 58th minute with Real Madrid leading 1-0 through a Gerard Pique own goal.
Barcelona equalised thanks to a Lionel Messi penalty after Keylor Navas was adjudged to have brought Luis Suarez down in the box.
But just a few minutes later a lightning quick break from Real Madrid ended with Ronaldo scoring a stunning goal. The four-time Ballon d’Or winner shifted the ball onto his right foot and then curled the ball into the top corner.
To celebrate the goal, Ronaldo pulled his shirt off to display his torso in front of the Barcelona fans – something that earned him a booking.
Two minutes later Real Madrid were on the break again and Ronaldo tumbled in the box.
The referee however felt the Portuguese forward had taken a dive and brandished a second yellow card followed by the red.
Ronaldo was furious and before he left the pitch he pushed the referee in the back in frustration.
He is sure to miss the second leg at the Bernabeu next week and if the authorities take action over the push, which the referee didn’t immediately react to, he could miss much more.
But at least he can take comfort that Real Madrid are in a strong position before these sides meet again, with Marco Asensio scoring a stunning long-range goal to make it 3-1 on the night.